CAHME Scholarship Award Winners for 2020 01/06/2020

Along with our partner foundations, we take great pride in recognizing deserving students through CAHME’s scholarship program.

It is my honor to share with you this year’s winners of the CAHME/Dawn Gideon Foundation Scholarship, the CAHME/Tim Campbell Scholarship and the CAHME/Judy Baar Topinka Foundation Scholarship for Health Policy.






Monica Avila is the recipient of the 2020 CAHME/Dawn Gideon Foundation Scholarship.  The $2,000 scholarship is named for Dawn Gideon, a graduate of a CAHME-accredited program at the University of Pittsburgh, who devoted her career to helping healthcare organizations succeed.

As a young researcher and public health advocate, Avila’s passion for cancer prevention and volunteerism stems from growing up in New Mexico, where she witnessed, firsthand, the limited access to medical screenings, medical care and research.  Her interest in preventive medicine grew stronger while studying as an undergrad at the University of New Mexico.  Her work surrounding the tumor environment in inflammatory breast cancer, which disproportionately affected African American women, earned her departmental honors as well as the title of a Congressional Scholar for research in the Department of Biochemistry and Biology.

Avila interned at several health clinics as well as the New Mexico Department of Health.  Ultimately she ran a health campaign in Cuzco, Peru, giving imprisoned women access to cervical cancer screenings.

Avila remains focused on finding effective ways to recruit eligible participants for national cancer trials to help attain equal access to first-line therapies.

Monica Avila was nominated by Gretchen Gemeinhardt, PhD, MBA, FACHE of the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Public Health.  Avila is pursuing a MPH degree.



Rodricka Brice-Curry is the recipient of the 2020 CAHME/Tim Campbell Scholarship.  The $2,000 scholarship honors Tim Campbell, a business leader and CAHME board member, who believed that true success is measured through relationships that help others reach their full potential.

Brice-Curry realized the importance of compassion at a young age when she began helping others through community service.  This inspired her to join the Air Force later in life, where she strongly identifies with “Service before Self,” one of the core values of the branch.

Serving in the Air Force provides her with the opportunity to fulfill her commitment of service beyond her local community by helping people all around the world.  She also serves as a Certified Respiratory Therapist at Langley Air Force Base and was recently named Volunteer of the Year in her Medical Group for accumulating over 300 hours of community service, while working with several community and faith-based organizations.  The happily married mother of one (born on Christmas of 2018) has aligned her professional career goal – to work in hospital administration – with her ambition to become an Air Force-commissioned officer.

Rodricka Brice-Curry was nominated by Tami Swenson, PhD, Assistant Professor, Master of the Public Health Program and Master of the Healthcare Administration Program at Des Moines University.  Brice-Curry is pursuing a MHA degree.



Kashay Webb is the recipient of the 2020 CAHME/Judy Baar Topinka Foundation Scholarship.  The scholarship awards $2,000 to a graduate student in healthcare management education at a CAHME-accredited program active in health policy.  Judy Baar Topinka served as a legislator, state treasurer for an unprecedented three terms and the Illinois comptroller for one term until her untimely death at the beginning of her second term.  She was noted as an advocate for the health and welfare of the residents of Illinois.

Growing up in Baltimore, Maryland, Webb saw how health disparities can keep people from thriving and dedicated her time to improving the health status for underserved, disadvantaged and vulnerable populations.

Webb served as the Special Projects Administrator of St. Mary’s Outreach Center, a local Baltimore organization supporting hundreds of economically vulnerable, older adults.  She also led the deployment of a customized software program, which improved the efficiency of operations and client services at the center.

As the Co-Vice President of Public Policy for the American Association of University Women (AAUW), Webb has tailored her coalition relationships and legislative priorities to focus on health policy issues.  She recently championed the passage of a Maryland Hospital Patient Bill of Rights to ensure that all patients receive a list of their 24 legal rights to provide additional protection for vulnerable hospital patients.

Webb interned at the University of Maryland Medical Center, where she conducted an institution-wide diversity and inclusion assessment to evaluate the extent to which UMMC meets national cultural and linguistic standards.  Her findings serve as the basis for diversity initiatives in the FY20 strategic plan.

Kashay Webb was nominated by Mark J. Bittle, DrPH, MBA, FACHE of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health Master of Health Administration Program.  Webb is pursing a MHA degree.

These students reflect our mission of advancing the quality of healthcare management education.  I hope you join me as we celebrate the recipients at the CAHME Awards Luncheon on March 22, 2020, at 12 p.m. in Chicago, Illinois, held during ACHE’s Annual Congress.  For tickets to the award ceremony, go to:



Anthony Stanowski, DHA, FACHE
President and CEO