Announcing the CAHME 2021 Award Recipients (1/25/2021)

Along with our generous corporate partners, foundations, and personal donations, we take great pride in recognizing deserving CAHME-accredited programs and students through our CAHME Awards program.

This year’s recipients will be honored during ACHE Virtual Congress on March 22-25, 2021, and are acknowledged in the January 25, 2021 edition of Modern Healthcare. These programs and students reflect our mission of advancing the quality of healthcare management education.

The University of Washington Master of Health Administration Program is the 2021 CAHME/Canon Solutions America Award recipient. The award is inspired by Canon Solutions America’s contributions to a sustainable society. The award recognizes the significant influence of education on creating sustainable, inclusive and socially responsible healthcare organizations.

UW’s program incorporates sustainability, diversity, equity and inclusion in their teaching, research, and community engagement. UW fosters independence, and leadership working toward a sustainable future in the industry and the communities they serve. Learn more about their program here.

Priyanka Santhapuram is the recipient of the 2021 CAHME/Dawn Gideon Foundation Scholarship. The $2,500 scholarship is named for Dawn Gideon, a graduate of a CAHME-accredited program at the University of Pittsburgh, who devoted her career to helping healthcare organizations succeed.

Priyanka was nominated by Karen Charron, Assistant MHA Director at Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health. Priyanka is pursuing an MHA degree. Priyanka remains focused on the realities of the social determinants of health by addressing the gaps through creative methods. She is a self-starting woman working towards a healthcare leadership career. Read Priyanka’s full story here.

Haley Kirby and Jennifer Raichle are the recipients of the 2021 CAHME/Tim Campbell Scholarship. The $3,000 scholarship for each recipient honors Tim Campbell, a business leader and CAHME board member, who believed that true success is measured through relationships that help others reach their full potential.

Haley was nominated by Bankole Olatosi, PhD, MHA Program Director at the University of South Carolina, Arnold School of Public Health. Haley is pursuing an MHA degree. She plans to use the competencies and experiences gained from her Master’s degree to improve healthcare delivery. She is driven to create voices for rural patients and communities. Read Haley’s full story here.

Jennifer was nominated by Richard H. Gregg, MA, MBA, Director of Programs in Health Administration at Suffolk University, Sawyer Business School. Jennifer is pursuing an MHA degree. She plans to continue to care for those in need, while studying how to the lead the next generation. She is a selfless leader devoted to giving back. Read Jennifer’s full story here.

Meaghan Hart is the recipient of the 2021 CAHME/Judy Baar Topinka Foundation Scholarship. The scholarship awards $2,000 to a graduate student in healthcare management education at a CAHME-accredited program active in serving the community around COVID-19. The award is named in memory of Judy Baar Topinka, who dedicated herself to a lifetime of public service to the people of the State of Illinois.

Meaghan was nominated by Mark J. Bittle, MHA Program Director at Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health. Meaghan is pursuing an MHA degree. She showed empathy and humility by bringing comfort to thousands during this difficult time. She embodies the spirit of public service and advocacy, and desires to make a difference as a compassionate healthcare executive. Read Meaghan’s fully story here.

Okunsogie Jessica Osaze and Mohammed Alzeen are the recipients of the 2021 CAHME/Pristine Home Care Student Essay Contest Scholarship. The scholarship awards $1,500 to the first-place student author, and $500 to the runner-up, for addressing barriers to healthcare in the current environment with a focus on home care.

Jessica was nominated by Sue Boren, PhD, MHA, Professor and Director of Academic Programs at the University of Missouri School of Medicine. Jessica is pursuing an MHA degree. Her essay addresses the importance of meeting the cultural needs of patients in their homes with cultural humility interventions at the macro, mezzo, and micro levels. Read Jessica’s essay here.

Mohammed was nominated by D. Chris Nesser, PhD, Director of Health Administration at University of the Incarnate Word, HEB School of Business and Administration. Mohammed is pursuing an MHA degree. His essay discusses the social determinants of health and its influence on health outcomes. Read Mohammed’s essay here.

For more information, visit

Congratulations to all of the winning programs and students!

Anthony Stanowski, DHA, FACHE
President & CEO
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education